Temat: Graphical operating system for Atari XL/XE?

How would you like a graphical operating system with multitasking on an 8-bit atari? :-)
http://asma.musichall.cz/at-wokna.png
Would anyone be interested in coding such OS?
I would gladly participate on that, with knowledge of operating system theory and some pixel art  :D

Odp: Graphical operating system for Atari XL/XE?

don't ya think da win9x gui style stink?

look man
http://www.i-lo.tarnow.pl/edu/inf/hist/gui/

:-)

http://atari.pl/hsc/ad.php?i=1.

Would anyone be interested in coding such OS?
I would gladly participate on that, with knowledge of operating system theory and some pixel art  :D

Well, I started coding such thing around 1996-97 but due to lack of good idea of a workable sheduler and IO subsystem - I gave it up. I still have some source around, but I don't think I'll follow. Remember one nifty idea of bank-switched round-robin sheduler. Some people (Jurgi/FLD or Charlie/NG if my memory serves me right) came up with a tricky idea of NMI based bank mutexes. Never got a working implementation though. That's all i can remember right now.

ps. some people saw the working GUI :) but the underlying OS was the normal atari OS so, not a big deal :)
Anyway - good luck to whomever writes such thing. Could be cool.

Great idea!!!
I propose one: completely new os, using Hard Disks interfeaces with no limits, stereo, extra memory etc. Maybe fully compatibly with DOS 3.30 (TOS)? Of course - old atari formats included...

Sikor umarł...